Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
I'm a (VERY) new guy to the forum. I have been carrying another manufacturer's gun as my EDC for about 6 months now. Did my due diligence, research, and asked questions. Now, after about 900 rounds, I've run out of patience. The trigger pull on this firearm has me feeling like I'm trying to milk a cow to send one round down range. This weapon I currently own would make a formidable tool in a less than 3-4 yards encounter, but beyond 7 yards, I cannot consistantly hit an 8" plate. About 6-7 rounds out of 10 round mag is about the best I can consistantly average. I did try to lighten up the trigger pull with a 3.5 pound connector, but still, my groups are much more open and inconsistant than I can get with my old Baretta model 92, by an embarrasing margin. As I was leaving the range, a gentleman was arriving, and let me run a magazine thru his Walther PPQ. I was very impressed. I grouped every shot in one ragged hole. Not even one flyer out of the group. I am definately trading, but don't want to be hasty. I thought I would join the forum, and ask the the brain trust....what are your ideas on the best EDC Walther. My current carry is a single stack 9mm, but I am not married to that idea. Oh, I wear an XL glove, am 6'1, medium frame guy, 220 lbs. I hope that's not info-overload, but thought that may be helpful in advise.
Thank you gentlemen in advance.

·
Premium Member
13,791 Posts
Hello Chuck. PPQ is a fine weapon.....it's what I carry 99% of the time. But Walther has other offerings as well. For a weapon in the same size category as the PPQ, there's the P99. The P99 AS has a DA/SA trigger system, including a de-cocker. Allowing you to carry the pistol in DA.

Then there's the smaller pistols....PPS, CCP, PPK.