Walther Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to the local sports store here in town and I saw an AD date coded P99 in one of the cases. Someone had sold it to the store. I asked to check it out, and it looked to be in better shape than the P99 I bought last month! Now, I clean my P99 after every trip to the range, and I have put 300 rounds through my AF date coded, OD green, 9mm, and the frame is a little chewed up in some places.

But anyway back to the AD date coded one. It is an all black 9mm with an AS trigger. It doesn't say AS on the slide, it just says "Walther" in white and "P99". Anyway, when I checked it out, the frame wasn't as worn as my OD green P99, and it looked to still have the factory grease inside as well.

Well, since I am not an expert in p99s I don't know if it is in good condition or not, but I didn't care because I bought it.
That is why I will be in the doghouse. I charged it to my credit card, and now I have to hide it from the wife until I can break it to her easily that I bought another P99 in less than a month.

I do have a question though. What are the common wear points on the inside of the frame for a P99? As I said, on my OD green AF date coded P99, it looks like there are a couple of points that were "melted" in the area where the recoil rod & spring would be if the gun was assembled. I don't think there is anything from the barrel that can "melt" the inside of the frame in that area but I just wanted to know if anyone else has this sort of wear on their newer models. The AD coded one I just bought does not have these "melted" areas.

So anyway, sorry for this being so long, I would post pics but I haven't figured out how yet.

But to sum this up. I will be in the doghouse when my wife finds out I bought another P99 in less than a month, and a used one at that!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #2