Walther Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
where are the good sales people?

so, i'm looking to get my first handgun. i don't know very much about semi-auto pistols. the other day i was at Bass Pro south of Houston. i tried to ask this older gentleman about a few pistols i was admiring. he however was more interested in talking bullsheet with no one in particular. i'm okay with that. i didn't expect to get good help at Bass Pro.

tonight on the other hand, i went to Top Gun of Texas which was recommended. so, i ask the dude behind the counter to tell me a little about different guns. i tell him i'm brand new to handguns and try to ask some questions about different features.

here's how the conversation went at that point

SG (salesguy), "get a Glock".

me, "why"

SG, "they're the best"

me, "what makes them the best"

SG, "most reliable, you can trick it out"

me, "uh huh"

SG, "used all over the world. you can come out of the water shooting it"

at this point as you can see he's explained absolutely nothing about features on any gun.

me, "can you tell me about what features come a gun? i have read about single action and double action. what does that mean?

SG, "double action is harder to pull"

me, "why is that? how does it work?"

SG, "hey (insert other SG name) can you explain the difference between double action and single aciton?

OSG actually gives me a good explanation.

SG, "you should just rent some guns and shoot"

that was basically the end of our conversation.

i'm no longer in a sales position, but i grew up working in retail. i know how to listen to the customer and at least try and give an answer.

i hate nothing more than asking a question and getting "buy this".

sorry for the rant, but i'm sick of poor customer service these days. wake up people. most of the time, i can buy the same item online for quite a bit less. i don't mind paying more if i can get good help.

·
Registered
2,788 Posts