Walther Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Unlike the rest of you, I confess that I’m a complete newbie with shooting, not to mention the gun world in general. Husband recently convinced me to get my CCL and the only pistol we had small enough to fit that bill was one I inherited from my late father - a 1968 Interarms PPK. Husband took me to the range to learn to shoot with it and I fell in love with the Walther. It fits my hand perfectly, feels so well-balanced and, never once jammed on me. So, although “James Bond” I most definitely am NOT (yet!), it looks like at least for now, my ccw is going to be a 50+ yr. old PPK.🤗 Dad also left me a 1945 WWII P38 which, if its shoots anything like the ppk, I am also very much looking forward to trying out on the range. Thank you all for welcoming me here - hope you don’t mind a few occasionally stupid questions on my part! I’m very much looking forward to learning more about the history of Walther and all of their amazing pistols.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell. I was carrying a Manurihin Walther PP yesterday as my primary carry. It is pretty new, made in 1954. Today I have a Walther Model 4 as my carry handgun and it was made in 1923.

Get that P38 checked out and get the springs replaced (a set of replacement springs should be less than $20.00) and it will be a REAL joy to shoot, especially one handed. Mine was made in 1941 by Walther and it rocks up and then back on target just like my old Colt SAAs. One of the most pleasant shooting 9mm pistols I own.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the warm welcome - and the advice on the P38 - will definitely check her springs out. I’m taking it with me to the range today to see how she shoots - am expecting good things. Your 1954 Manhuerin PP sounds like fun :) Walther definitely made some quality weapons. Wondering if their new Ft. Smith PPKs will be the same?!

·