Walther Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i'm a newb but let me first say i'm in love with the p99. I'm only 19 but i will me getting my first handgun hopefully soon. My Dad will be signing for it and just cause i'm young does't mean i'm dumb i know guns aren't toys but i just love to shoot. Because of my age i won't be carrying this gun all the time only in its case. I think i want the 9mm but you guys are the real gurus so i haven't really decided. i don't understand the different types of p99 (doa,qa,as). What do you guys recommend. I've been shooting my friends springfield xd 9mm ported and i like the way it shoots. i really don't know to much of the gun language so don't loose me. thanks for all of your help in advanced.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Practicing a lot won't be a problem at all. my dad owns 25 arches so I can go shooting whenever I want or when I can afford ammo.

·
Registered
539 Posts
I recommend getting some classes as well. I took the NRA Pistol Basics class and found it quite informative. It may not be cool or macho but it does make you a safer and better gun user/owner. Work on the basics first before going nuts with rapid fire and shooting at things other than targets. For that reason going to a range is good because you are forced to observe safety rules and regulations even if it restricts what you are allowed to do.

Taking the NRA class will also explain the differences between DAO, SA, DA/SA etc. In the meantime check out the Walther site for a graph that shows trigger pulls for each trigger mode. It explains it clearer than anyone could write it here.

·
Registered
310 Posts