Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finished reading the First Edition of Modern reloading and it should be I would rather ask the questions than not and pay the price which talking firearms can be more than what someone would like to risk. As stated I am very new to reloading and will take a slow careful approach with helpful advise from the wiser.

My questions:

1st: I have collected most of my brass from the my local range after I bought Federal Pre, Winchester, and Agulia boxed. After I clean that brass how many times can it be reused. Ive read 2-3 times and Ive heard others say with pistol they use it till the case splits "Doesnt sound that good but what do I know so far"

2nd: Does anyone have pictures of certain conditions to look for when picking up the brass at the range.

3rd: I will check my handloading guide but does anyone have any great 9mm load data that works well for the PPQ 4in m2

Thank you for all the time spent reading and helping me on this journey

Sincerely A Handloading Newby

·
Registered
913 Posts
How many times a 9mm (or any other) casing may be reloaded will depend on a number of variables. For simple range plinking with a weaker load one could get 30-40 or more reloads as opposed to a heavy load. More crimp will crack sooner then a lighter crimp. Dirty dies can shorten brass life. Some powders will burn extremely hot and cause increased metal fatigue. Your once fired brass could easily be reloaded 20-25 times whereas nickel casings can tend to crack and chip between 5-10 reloads. Your range pickups could have been reloaded a dozen times already. Generally and without pushing the maximum loads most people I have read get upwards of 25+ reloads. The biggest thing is to simply inspect each casing.

Nope but a Google should pull up lots of images..