Walther Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a financial services technology analyst, university professor, and firearms instructor from south central Pennsylvania.

My journey into being a Walther owner started many years ago when I was messing around with paintball guns. I picked up a Walther P99 RAM paintball gun. It was nearly identical to the P99 AS. I absolutely loved the feel of that gun, but didn’t go anywhere with it. Two weeks ago, I got an email message from Classic Firearms. They were selling police turn in P99s in the AS and DAO varieties. I jumped on the DAO because the only DAO in my collection is my Beretta Pico and I wanted a DAO gun to keep my trigger skills up to snuff. I went to pick up the gun from my FFL and I brought a gun that I was barely using to sell or consign. The FFL had a barely used PPS M2 LE with all three magazines so I got that.

A few days later, I got an email from a vendor selling P22s in all FDE. I have osteoarthritis in my hands, so I’ve been looking to switch my collection to 9mm, 380ACP, 32ACP, and 22. I bought the P22. It’s a CA model and I’m not in Cali, so I’m burning off the Loc-Tite holding the barrel nut on and adding the 5” target barrel with compensator and a suppressor. I also got a fully captured RSA so I don’t have to mess with that feisty snake of a recoil spring in the P22. Add to that a few 5 round magazine extensions, and it is the gun I really wanted.

Yesterday, I went to pick up the P22. The FFL had a PK380, so I had to check it out. I love the feel, but then I went to try it out. It was a horrible experience. The trigger was gritty, the DA pull was very heavy and the SA pull was also rough and heavy. I don’t have a problem with a heavy trigger pull (after all, I just got the P99 DAO), but there is nothing smooth about the 380. What gives with that? I’m wondering if Walther contacted that out to another company and they just executed the job poorly.