Walther Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Im new to Walther pistols. I bought a PP in .22lr to day at work (I work in a hunting / shooting supply store), even got the original manual for it.

Since Walthers are new to me I would like to know some more about my gun.
It has serial number 193056 P. Eagles over N on frame above the extractor, Eagle over N on the chamber hood. Left side of slide says Walther in banner. Waffenfabrik Walther, Zella-Mehlis (Th?r). Walthers Patent Cal 22 Mod PP

I would say 98-99% in bluing.

I plan to shoot with it, is it worth any thing? Should I pamper it and treat it as a safe queen? :)

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
13,914 Posts
It's a lovely gun made early in WWII, and more valuable than those made postwar. If it were mine, I would shoot and enjoy it.

M

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
Very nice, great find. I wouldn't be afraid to shoot it, just take some precautions such as not letting the hammer snap down when you engage the safety or dry firing a rim fire. The safety is more of a problem with the 90 degree safeties and yours is a 60 degree one, so that is not as critical, but still a good idea because broken part replacements are hard to find and expensive. Per Dieter Marschall's book that PP was produced sometime between 1942 and 1944, probably 1943 because it is in the middle of the serial number range. It also has the short tang which is typical for .22's, they used old stored frames for those and used the newer longer tanged frames for the .32 PP's at that time in the war.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
I have read the responses you received on the p38 forum. They are different from ours here. They are more into collecting than shooting, but they give very sound advise and I trust what they say. Whatever you do, enjoy your new acquisition.

·
Premium Member
13,914 Posts