Walther Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm just getting started out and recently picked up a P99 9mm as my first firearm. Very happy with the gun and now looking for your opninions on the type of ammo you use at the range. I've settled on Federal Hydra-Shock for home defense use. I've fired the Fiocci, PMC, Remington, and Winchester 9mm at the range and can't make up my mind.

By the way, thanks for the cleaning articles!!!

·
Premium Member
4,589 Posts
magtech ammo

Add those to your range amm list.... they shoot very clean IMHO..... and come in 115gr or 124 gr

·
Registered
471 Posts
If it goes "Bang!" then it's good range ammo!
Well, almost... I stay away from lead bullets, other peoples reloads and steel cases, other than that, I shoot them all.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Winchester White Box from walmart, 11 bucks for 100 rounds? Can life get any better? I submit it cannot

·
Registered
75 Posts
Academy out here in Fort Worth sells a box of 250 Remington for 27 dollars.

I prefer the Winchester from wal-mart because it shoots cleaner, but it is REAL hard to pass up that box of 250 - even if it is a dirtier ammo.

·
Registered
232 Posts
after shooting cci blazer aluminum I'm regularly disgusted by WWB. I put 300 rounds of blazer through my P99 and it stays clean. I put 50 WWB through it and the end of the gun gets covered in soot. I've noticed that blazer brass is a lower quality product than blazer aluminum though. Incidentally, the aluminum cases would be reloadable if they were boxer instead of berdan primed.

·
Registered
15 Posts
In .40 S&W, WWB 180 is really really dirty, covering the slide in soot within the 1st magazine. Switched over to UMC 180 .. and it's still a little dirty. Finally switched over to CCI Blazer Brass 165 for a cleaner gun. Personally will not go back to WWB.