Walther Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using Remington Bullets 22LR for several years and have had good success with them in several guns. On par with CCI Mini Mags. Almost all have come from the 525 round (or smaller) box. I have received two buckets of GB’s as gifts and finally got around to shooting some. Took my Walther PPK/S to the range and first finished off a partial box of CCI Stingers then started on the GB’s. All went ok but seems they were a bit more smokey than others I’ve used. After about 5-6 magazines worth the gun started giving me the finger in that FTE, Stove pipes, fail to go into battery.

My question is: are the bucket bullets a lower grade than the small box or 525 box? Any helpful feedback Appreciated.

·
Registered
1,453 Posts
This is interesting. I have heard such things in various circles. I tend to avoid Big Green's ammo as it ALL seems to be dirty shooting ammo. Even the Golden Bullets, they have a flaky coating on the pill that sheds off rather easily and is a residue on my hands. Plus their Core Lokt rounds leave a copper green residue in the tube of every rifle I have put them through. I had an old British Enfield that I rebuilt for a hobby, and Remmy had the cheapest .303 British ammo on the market for a while, and I found out why. They were cheaper than Prvi Partizan at the time. But after running solvent and patches through the bore post-range session, ALL the patches came out sickly green.

I had such bad luck with Thunderbolts in .22lr that, like I said, I avoid Big Green unless it is the ONLY thing available. I have to imagine that even though all those rounds are probably made on the same line, there has to be SOMETHING different about them that they are put in bulk and sold at a really competitive price like they are.

·
Registered
9,447 Posts