Walther Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Brother and Sister P99 Shooters! I am new to this wonderful forum (and to Walther handguns) which you may have gleaned from other posts I've left already. I recently acquired my first Walther, a P99 AS in 9mm, and last evening it had it's coming out party. I'd like to share my experience with it, and hopefully elicit some coaching from this seasoned group. Before I do I'd like to give background as to "why a P99?"

I am a recreational shooter who doesn't (yet) CC, but keeps a handgun at-the-ready in the home for, God forbid, a situation where it is needed. I have been around firearms (mostly shotguns) since teenage, and I am in my early 50's now. About 15 years ago I acquired a Glock 17 which served for the above uses. However the handgun bug has bit me and in the last two years I've added several more to my collection. After shooting and comparing all of them it became obvious to me that I shoot the Glock more poorly than any of the others. I shoot my 1911s and Beretta M9 the best, as you might guess with their single actions systems. But while they are fun (and effective) at the silhouette range, I am reluctant to use them for home defense. I am not trained in combat and I predict that if ever the situation arises where I need to use a weapon in self defense, my nerves will be working against me. Assuming that will be the case, I'd like a weapon with as many rounds as possible (leaving the 1911 out of the mix), but one with a safe yet easy to shoot action (eliminating the M9 which while easy to shoot due to its light SA trigger, lacks a manual safety and seems dangerous to move through a home with). I'd also like one that I can shoot often so as to master it as much as possible. Enter the P99 in 9mm with its anti stress action.

Whew, if you're still with me, here's what I experienced last evening: