Walther Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I would post about some problems I had recently after trying some ammo in the P99C.
I do not reload my ammunition so I will, on occasion, buy aluminum cased ammo. Recently I tried Federal 115gr FMJ from their 200 round box that I bought at a local Walmart. I was shooting dot torture at 5 yards with the P99C and in less than a hundred rounds I had 3 failures to extract, one with a double feed stoppage. Needless to say, I was irked by the problem. Inspecting the cases it seems that a small chip was torn off each of the rims as the extractor tried to pull the shell from the chamber.
I have never had a problem shooting similar .40 cal aluminum ammo in my SIG P250.
Caveat emptor!

Attachments

·
Registered
6,756 Posts
I've fired thousands of rounds of Blazer aluminum through a 1st gen P99 with no issues. I have no experience with the Federal aluminum rounds.

If you have FTExtract issues with any ammunition though any pistol, and the issue can be traced back to firing that ammo and that ammo alone, my suggestion would be to stop the use of it completely. If the casing is stuck in the chamber so tightly that the extractor hook is ripping pieces of the rim off of the casing while cycling, you may be doing damage to the extractor, which would be bad for a range pistol, and even worse for a defensive pistol, even if you aren't using that ammunition the next time you shoot the pistol.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've fired thousands of rounds of Blazer aluminum through a 1st gen P99 with no issues. I have no experience with the Federal aluminum rounds.