Walther Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's not a Walther question- Gasp!

I'm looking at getting some new hearing protection. I've been thinking of getting a pair of electronic ear muffs that compress loud sounds (i.e. gunfire) and yet allow the wearer to hear other sounds (i.e. conversation). -I'd probably tend towards muffs with slimmer cups so I can shoot long guns.

I have had some experience with Pro Ears' and Peltor's. It's been mixed. Does anyone have direct experience with electronic active hearing protection and if so do you have any recommendations?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
I love my Peltor Tac-7 set I've had for a couple of years. They are great. If I bought another pair, I'd probably get the less expensive Tac 6s. I only have direct experience with Peltor and it has been great so far.

James

·
Registered
25 Posts
I would like a definitive answer about this (can't trust salesman you know):  Is the Peltor Tac-7 and kin really "active" hearing protection?  Or are they just amplifiers and speakers that shut off (thereby kicking in the passive protection) when loud noises happen?  I surmise from the literature that I've been able to find that they do not offer true "active" protection.  Let me tell you what I mean by this.

True active protection first senses noise.  Then a signal is generated exactly 180 degrees out of phase with this noise and fed into the earphones.  Because of limitations in the electronics (and I'm sure price plays a role) active protection is usually limited to lower frequencies.  You get around 15 db and more of protection beyond that of the passive protection offered with this type of "ear muff".  Now passive protection is usually around 20 to 25 db then you add the 15 or more db of active protection and end up with 35 to 40 db of total protection.