Walther Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still relatively new to walther and was wondering where I could get a DAO. I tried my local gunshop (who happens to be an autherized dealer) without success and the links in the sticky at the top of the p99 section here but can't seem to find one. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

-polarcow

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
QAs and A/S's are easy to find - DAO models are very tough to find.

Are U familiar with the long, heavy trigger of the DAO? U may want a QA - which works like a Glock or XD trigger.

The DAo used to be the P990 - but Walther discontinued them - sales were poor.

·
Premium Member
4,590 Posts
There is a P99/DAO in 9mm on gunbroker... but it's not cheap
also it does not have the ambi slide release.... which made the above just somewhat interesting since it was the first time that I have seen the ambi sliderelease other than on Walther's webpage or catalogs

sorry forgot the link
http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=73331564

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys. I know about the longer pull but it is lighter than the DA on the AS I think. The ambi slide release is a big selling point for me as is the double strike capability. If only walther would make the AS with an ambi slide that would be perfect. Local dealer just called and said all hope is not lost just yet, but it may take a while.

-polarcow

·
Registered
525 Posts
I don't know if it helps you any or not but the DAO pull weight is the same weight and length as the P99 AS pull when decocked. Personally I wouldn't put too much value on second strike either, if the round doesn't go off, rack the slide and get it out of the chamber. The ambi slide release though I could certainly see wanting if you're a lefty.

If you're looking for used don't forget that the DAO style of the older frame was called the P990, although I don't think it had ambi slide release.

·
Registered