Walther Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been instructing now for 4 months. Mostly small groups 2 to 10. Had a few hundred shooters. By no means am I experienced the way someone might be who has been doing this for 30 years. I am still learning and growing.

But if it’s one thingI have leaned, what people think are mechanical problems with guns.....are not mechanical. It’s the shooter and they mostly don’t want to believe that.

People also WAY over estimate their experience level.

Most common:

- Gun jams due to limp wrisiting. Very easy to verify. Customers don’t want to admit they are doing it Until I fire the gun and it doesn’t jam.

- Jams and misfires 100% because shooters hang on to the slide and don’t let the springs do their job. PULL THAT SUCKER BACK AND LET GO FOWARD ON ITS OWN. The springs will do the work.

- They think their sites are “off” until I show them that I can drill bulls with it.

In almost every case shooters have these problems and say things like “I have been shooting for years” and “I don’t have this problem with other guns.”

I even had a women recently who bought a brand new handgun. Bought ammo. Told me it was a 9M. But said that something was wrong with the gun. Turns out it was a .40. Said she has been shooting with her brothers all her life. She had been trying to shoot 9mm ammo through a .40.

SO, why do I say all this? Its because even on sites like this, there are people that will insist “it’s the gun”. And some of us will suggest things about your technique and people get aggrevated. I have seen these issues now in person a few dozen times.....people insisting they are doing something correctly and within 20 secs I can see the problem. Tell them...they deny it......do it for them in person, and then they get it.

We don’t have that advantage on forums.