Walther Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am new to gun owning. I've put 750 rounds through my P99 so far. I just got back from the range after putting 150 rounds through it. My question is how well should I clean it? I just ran my bore snake through the barrell, got all the little thingies out (yea, real technical). So should I go ahead and break out the Lube and the powder spray and give it a good work down? Should I do this after every trip to the range, or is there a general set number of rounds to put through it before cleaning? It doesn't look too dirty in the firing assembly, but I'm not sure if this is bad to leave in or if I should clean it out...

Thanks for the help,

Jon the n00b

·
Registered
333 Posts
I clean my guns everytime I come back from the range...this means breaking them down. Taking off the slide and removing the barrel and recoil spring is good enough. The purpose of this breakdown....is not so much cleaning as it is a "safety Inspection" of the weapon. You can catch problems that might cause a FTF with this simple practice. Cleaning and inspection is just as enjoyable for me a firing it on the range.
Check out some past threads on "cleaning"......I think it will prove helpful to you.

JF

·
Registered
14 Posts
/agree with sniper350. I as well clean it after my trips to the range. And I've done some external cleaning inbetween even--but then again I'm pretty anal about it lol

Make sure also when you clean it to really get all the crevises. I missed a bit the first time but I cleaned what I found the 2nd time.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It is fun, I just wasn't sure if it was necesary.

Thanks for the replies guys, while waiting I did clean it, but its good to know for future reference.

-- j

·
Registered
354 Posts
Every military unit I have ever seen to include forign ones clean there weapons all the time. This also tends to happen on a regular basis even if it isnt shot.