Walther Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello…Forum noob here.

For my Christmas bonus this year my Boss bought me a new P22 with the 5” barrel and stabilizer.  We are members at a small local Gun Club and he thought I was lacking not having a .22.  It is my first Walther handgun.  I haven’t made it out to the range yet but admit that I like the feel and look of the gun.  Now I’m looking at the P99 as a possible carry handgun in the future.  But after reading around the net I have to admit that I’m a little nervous about the selection of the P22.  Seems like there is a lot of complaints about jams and wear.  So here are a few questions I have.

How am I going to like this gun once I fire it?  
Do you have any suggestions to help prevent jamming/wear issue?  
What type of ammo should I use, lead, jacketed, hallow points?
Where was this gun made?  Has Smith & Wesson Springfield, MA and Made in Germany on the slide.

Thanks for any help; I invite feedback from the members here.

Regards, Dan

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Wow nice boss

How am I going to like this gun once I fire it?

You'll love it. I love mine, it is a hoot to shoot and my daughter loves to shoot it too - especially with my little suppressor on it.

Do you have any suggestions to help prevent jamming/wear issue?

Clean and lube it before you shoot it. Make sure you lube the rail tabs, preferrably with a TetraGrease like substance.

What type of ammo should I use, lead, jacketed, hallow points?

.22LR only comes in lead, but you can get copper plated hollow points. It took about 200 rounds of high velocity ammo to break mine in. But I also didn't have the -A magazines (new reworked ones which should be included with yours). I would buy some good quality high velocity ammo to start with, see if you have issues, if not, try some other stuff. If you do have feeding/FTF problems, keep shooting until you have fired at least 200 rounds before getting frustrated.