Walther Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to guns, but not the internet or mechanical things. But I bought a brand new PPK/S in 22 in Nickel last weekend. (looks awesome!) I've read about finicky ammo, so I took it home, cleaned it and ran 100 rounds of CCI mini mag through it. It worked great. I had two ejection problems.

I had a box of Federal 22 I bought to shoot at a friend's house in his gun and tried to use that on Saturday night at the local range (where I bought it). Every 3rd or 4th shot was an FTE. The shell stayed in the barrel even. It was extremely frustrating to where I had to drop the mag and cycle the slide to get it out.

Thought the ammo might be the issue.

Took it back to my friends house 70 miles away yesterday. Bought some high velocity Winchester (Super Velocity?) as Cabela's was out of mini mags. Same issues. Tried some of my friend's ammo. Same issues.

He looked at an it said that the extractor might not be hooking the shell to pull it out. We gave up on it for the day.

Called the Armor at the range when I bought it (last week). He said some 22s are very finicky on ammo (I read this) but this seems almost insane. I can't get back over there for him to look at it till Wed, but I thought I would seek opinions here.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
675 Posts
First, welcome to the club. Couple of things. I’ve owned my black PPK/S for about three years now, but was close to throwing it away. Had many many failed to eject, stove pipes. I had two instances where the fired round blew out the casing resulting in the extractor and all the pieces for it being blown out. Walther fixed it for free including shipping.