Walther Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this forum and must say there is an impressive amount of information. This raises hopes for help with my problem. To start off, I'm new to pistol ownership and fairly new to even shooting them until I purchased this one in February of this year. Let me just say, I love this gun! I have gotten to fire a few other before and since but nothing compares.

I would love to be able to shoot without hearing protection, however. According to another forum post the 9mm PPQ M2 has a Navy version that has a threaded barrel that is just a touch longer. Would this work in my gun without modification? Has anybody done this?

I live in Michigan which allows the use of a suppressor and was looking to do a trust as my fiance has a matching Walther (not sister serial #s unfortunately.) We could both legally posses it to my understanding once properly setup.

Any insight is appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Michigan. Unfortunately Ear pro is still needed with suppressors as far as I'm concerned. It's not like the movies where you can hear talking over the shot. A lot of 9mm suppressors are in the 120-135db range when used. Which is still above the pain threshold. 120db is also where hearing damage starts occurring from short term exposure. Indoor ranges or hunting without ear pro are where these shine. This is just my opinion.

The PPQ Navy SD will accept a 9mm 1/2x28 threaded suppressor or muzzle device as is. They also have to be removed in order to field strip (take down) and clean. Suppressors themselves also need to be stripped and cleaned.

As far as a trust I recommend you do it fast, as my understanding is they are going to be a thing of the past from POTUS Executive Order.