Walther Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any plans to introduce an M2 version of the PPS in .40 cal?

Any comments/reviews on the Classic version in .40?

·
Registered
150 Posts
I've used a Walther PPS40 for years as one of my concealed carry weapons. Often on warmer humid days, it is my go-to gun. I carry it in a Falco dual IWB/OWB holster at 4 o'clock. This is a nice comfortable rig.

Here is a great link that all PPS owner should have bookmarked...

https://www.waltherforums.com/forum/faq-pps/8904-walther-pps-observations.html

I bought the pistol used from an auction in Arizona. It appeared to have been well maintained and only lightly used with maybe 50 rounds fired through it. Probably guarded a sock drawer.

The only issue, a real non-issue because I studied the link above, is that after I fired about 150-200 rounds I was having feeding problems. This was caused when the finish started wearing off the cartridge loading ramp.

I fired a couple hundred more rounds through it to clear off all the finish. I could have sanded or buffed the finish off, but I wanted the malfunction practice.

My guess is that we won't be seeing a PPS40 M2 soon. The gun industry appears to be pushing consumers to smaller caliber guns.

The herd instinct is strong and it appears to be moving folks away from .40S&W. This creates a buying opportunity for those of us who appreciate this caliber for personal protection and sport shooting.

I should add that the PPS40 is NOT a good range gun choice, because after several magazines it can become painfully apparent that thumb base joint has taken a beating. To compensate, I limit myself to a half box on each range trip and keep my practice focused. I also shoot my .40s first if I'm bringing 9mm guns to the range on that day.

In a self-defense situation, this little gun is a great choice!

·
Read Only
5,165 Posts