Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Lots of posts lately regarding mags. Some of you expressed concerns over the ProMag line of magazines. Although I have no experience with the 9mm version, I have three .40's that seem to work very well. So far there has been no FTF or premature slide lock problems.
My particular gun is a 1999 model with the old slide stop spring and orange mag followers (See the FAQ site about details regarding mags and slide lock). When I first bought the weapon, I was concerned about these problems. I purchased three ProMags and one Walther blue-follower mag for comparison. So far they all work fine.
I would like to hear from the .40's out there if you are experiencing these problems and what, if any, steps you have taken to correct it.
I am considering purchasing a new-style slide lock spring and additional new blue-follower mags from Walther if this problem is widespread out there. Walther is willing to exchange mags, but I have yet to do it.
On another note, attached is a couple of pics of the mags. In response to an older thread about the gap of the mags, here's a close-up of the ProMag in the gun. For the price, the look is very clean.
The second pic is a comparison of (left to right) ProMag, early Walther (orange), new Walther (blue). Only the new Walther has the notch at the top. But the ProMag follower is nearly identical to the new Walther blue.
If you are considering purchasing the ProMags, the price is right, and (so far, fingers crossed) no problems.
Comments? Suggestions?

·
Registered
26 Posts
My personal preference...the baseplate on that promag looks ugly especially in the pic where it is in the gun. It just doesn't look like it was designed for the gun.