Walther Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a 66yo vet and in my lifetime I guess at one time or another I've owned just about every modern pistol cartridge there is except a 10mm. For those that own one or have shot one, what is your opinion other than the price of ammo?
I've been looking at the 16 shot XD at Sportsman's Outdoor Superstore for $549. But, I've never owned a Springfield nor the 10mm. If you wanted a 10mm just because you didn't have one, is that a good weapon? Please feel free with any comments. I would be buying it just to take to the range and shoot or even maybe a full time truck gun. Thanks,

Jim D
SE Texas

Premium Member
I've had a Colt Delta Elite for about two years now and really like it. I haven't tried every brand of ammo there is but 180gr has a recoil similar to .357 Magnum from a four inch revolver. 200gr is much heavier. The only hollow points that I've tried are Federal Hydra Shok and those fed just fine. I haven't noticed any bulged brass.

After I bought mine I rented a Glock 40. To my surprise it had a softer recoil than my Delta. That would be a good choice if you're thinking about putting a red dot on it. If you're open to revolvers there's also the Ruger GP100.

Attachments

Registered
The 10mm is a really fun round to shoot. What many don鈥檛 know is the history behind the round.

It鈥檚 a stout round though most store bought ammo are not. Most of what you find in the store are FBI loads.

In the 1980s the FBI was looking for a new round. The 9mm was not enough. After much testing, they picked the 10mm. However, most of the agents could not pass the range test. The recoil was too awful.

As a result the 40mm was born to match to essentially be an even weaker version of the 10mm FBI load.

As a fun gun, 10mm is great. As far as ammo cost, I think most people will find that even if the ammo was cheap you won鈥檛 shoot 200 to 400 rounds at a range session anyway.