Go Back   WaltherForums > Walther Firearms > Walther General Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By 1942bull
  • 2 Post By olsoul

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 07:07 PM   #1

RandomRest .22
How much reliability testing needed?

Hello, I'm pretty new to Walthers and I'm looking for some advice.

After years shooting revolvers, I've recently shifted to shooting semi-automatics thanks to the gift of a P1 and a PPK/S from a friend. Those gateway Walthers led me to purchase a P99 and a PPS, and I would like to shift to them for home protection and carry. Before doing that, I want to be sure of reliability. I've chosen a type of defensive ammo for each pistol (Federal HST 147 and 150 Micro, respectively), and have run about 40 rounds through each without a glitch. How many test rounds of a specific ammo type would you consider necessary to be confident in reliable cycling?

Thanks for any advice.
RandomRest is offline   Reply With Quote
Register
Old 07-12-2019, 09:07 PM   #2

SkippySanchez .22
I'd suggest 100 rounds JHPs between two dedicated HD mags, but run another few hundred rounds of FMJ just to get the hang of running the pistol.

You might consider loading the mags from two or three rounds each to full capacity. Sometimes partially-loaded mags can be finicky, plus you can practice efficient magazine changes at the same time.

-------------------------------------------
I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.
SkippySanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 11:23 PM   #3

1942bull .22