Why hasn't the PPS gained the popularity of the Shield? - WaltherForums
WaltherForums

Go Back   WaltherForums > Walther Firearms > PPS

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2018, 11:55 PM   #1

river251 .22
Why hasn't the PPS gained the popularity of the Shield?

I am new to pistols and chose a PPS M2 because it felt great in my hand. However, I now realize it has not captured the market or interest that the Shield has. There are limited sights and holsters, and no triggers or trigger modifiers, mag extensions, and generally not much available for the PPS. The Shield, and the M&Ps overall, seem to have captured "the alternative to Glock" niche, which is huge, and results in lots of aftermarket upgrades, parts, modifiers, etc.

The PPS seems like a higher quality, smoother shooting, better pistol Why do you think they have failed to capture the market that the Shield has?

The Active Self Protection guy, John, had a poll and about 2/3 - 3/4 carried Glock, and the rest carried M&P, except everything else amounted to 5%. This reflects what I see on the internet.

Thank you for your thoughts, I'm quite baffled by this.

Jim
river251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Register
Old 12-13-2018, 01:39 AM   #2

Baldie2u .22
At the time the Shield came out S&W were the agents for selling the PPS. I have often wondered if they used the PPS as a base for the Shield and then Americans being Americans they went for the Shield as a home grown product.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Baldie2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 06:47 AM   #3

wormraper .22
1. S&W was first on the scene in the U.S. with the single stack compacts. They gained their market share much like how glock gained their share by beating the rest of the pack.

2. Price, back then the PPS was was $500+ and the shield $400 and less.

3. The Shield is a damn robust little gun, the difference between it and the PPS is not that great, if there's any real quality difference at all.