Brand new PPK/S .22LR, my range report - WaltherForums
WaltherForums

Go Back   WaltherForums > Walther Firearms > PP and TP Series > PPK/S .22LR, New Production by Umarex, 2013 or later

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013, 09:49 PM  

bdmd .22
Brand new PPK/S .22LR, my range report

I will preface this post by stating up front that, while I have hunted my entire life and am very comfortable with rifles and shotguns, I am a relative novice to handguns. However, I was bitten by the handgun bug about 8 months ago, and in that time I have acquired several new firearms. One of these is a brand new PPK/S .22LR in black, which I got just this week. It came new in the case, with one magazine. This is the "new" 22LR version that was recently released. Keep in mind that I have no prior experience with, or exposure to, other Walther PPK's or other Walther handguns, so I am not able to compare this to earlier models (although I have read a lot on this forum about the older models vs. this new version).

On initial inspection, the gun felt great in my hand--it seemed to be a perfect fit, and the weight was nice, substantial but not too heavy, also not overly light. Once I had it home, I disassembled it with no difficulty. I then looked it over carefully to make sure it did not have an inordinate amount of oil/lube. I also ran a patch through the bore, followed by several to dry it. I did have a little trouble getting the slide to move forward after putting it back on, but I think that was because I was not pressing down hard enough after fully retracting it.