Shooting PPQ for USPSA Production - WaltherForums
WaltherForums

Go Back   WaltherForums > General Interest > Gun Matches and Shooting Competitions

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2016, 01:18 PM   #1

7Left .22
Shooting PPQ for USPSA Production

I started shooting USPSA a little over a year ago, participating in about 8-10 matches. I started with a CZ 75B 9mm in Limited-minor and ended up getting classified a low D. I was consistently scoring mid 40% to low 50%, finishing in the middle of the pack (ex. 12th out of 24 shooters). I had lots of misses and procedurals because I was gunning too fast.

This year, I transitioned to my 4" PPQ for Production Division. I only have 2 matches with it. The first match I scored 60%, but the score got thrown out because of an error with the classifier. This last match, I scored 71%, finishing 3rd out of 17 Production shooters.

I think the stages played a small part. People were having trouble with steel poppers and a Texas Star. Needless to say, I'm super excited to see progress. By no means am I a great shooter. I still throw shots and my times are a little slow. I was just consistent with this last one. Only 2 misses and no procedurals.

My PPQ only has Talon Grip tape, Dawson FO front and Turul's custom rear blacked out sight. I am very satisfied with the stock trigger. Still have to be mindful of the muzzle flip. If I don't pay attention, that muzzle can get out of hand.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BartCarter likes this.

Last edited by 7Left; 06-30-2016 at 02:30 PM.
7Left is offline   Reply With Quote
Register
Old 06-26-2016, 12:37 PM   #2

brianr34 .22
I agree that the PPQ 4" is very nice for competition. I am using mine in IDPA this year also with the same sights you have. I agree the stock trigger is great, however I did go with a lighter FPB spring this week. It reduced the intial take up force and reduced overall trigger pull by 1/2lb. Going to try the 3.5lb TRS next.