Walther Forums banner

Why I 'm attracted to the romance of the P-38

2K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  03hemi 
#1 · (Edited)
Well, I have to say that in reading some of the archives and new posts. that you guys have the P-38 down pat.

I'm new to Walthers, having owned around 12 of them in the last 4 years, after coming from CZs for 35 years.

This is where it gets tricky:

I'm half German, have a German surname, but it also a Dutch surname in both the Nederlands and especially in South Africa.
My mejer's side is also German and Dutch.

I like European handguns and also rifles and smgs..with the Walther MPK in South African police service as well,, and then their UZi copy.

However, as a disabaled cop and a Christian man, I never was in favor of
Apartheid, nor was I Pro ANC and their SA communist party links and weapons pipeline.

Having this KaaaK Fibromyaglia.. it shut down my police career quickly and i decided to help some cops out that the whole world seemed to hate.

With my Project Safestar-SAP/ I couldn't travel to SA, but could make contact with a bunch of underpaid and low morale cops there.

Getting killed to the tune of 500 per year,,and not in military combat..just routine police patrol.
The problem was, unlike what some people would believe the
evil Afrikaners got shot, but so did black cops, Indian and colored cops. Not just white boys doing
their sworn duty. Most of them choosing the Police over the Army(SADF) for their drafted service.
\\HOwever, I'd learn later on about SAP members stationed on the coast of Namibia.

Short story..

Two handguns that stood out in their inventory, were the P-38 and the CZ75.

With their UN Weapons Embargo on Rhodesia and RSA. They took any pistols they could get.

Most cops and others hated their 'veerwardig' locally licensed and issued Zeederburg z-88 service 9mms, from VEKTOR. A Beretta 92 copy,.