WaltherForums

Go Back   WaltherForums > Walther Firearms > P99

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2009, 03:15 PM   #1
XKL

XKL .22
P99 versus P99 AS

Sponsored Links
A local shop has a used P99 for sale for $450 and a new P99 AS for $729 (both in 9mm). They are the same gun with minor differences (the trigger guard bump, smaller mag release, proprietary accessory rail on the used one), right? What would you factor into the decision as to buy new or used in this case? I know the used one is the DA/SA version (WAP65000) but I didn't check any other details. I'm a newbie, so I wouldn't know what to check for wear on a used gun. Is that reason enough for buying new? Or is it fairly safe to assume that a gun that looks good on the outside is probably in pretty good shape. $279 is a pretty big difference, so even if a spring or other part needs to be replaced, I'd still come out ahead with the used one?

Let me say that I'm very open to informed advice. If a novice should stay away from used guns (even a durable, German-made Walther ), then I'll listen to that advice. I'm especially interested in things I should check about the used gun to aid my decision (parts to inspect or model years to avoid).

Full disclosure: I haven't actually decided whether to buy a P99 yet. I get to shoot one this weekend for the first time. If I love it, I'll likely buy one.

Thanks.
XKL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 03:29 PM   #2

ChipM .22
I believe the P99 and the P99 AS are identical in function; the AS was just renamed to distinguish it from the QA. I don't have any problem buying used guns, and as you have seen they can represent a very good value. Just give it a good inspection to see that it is in good shape and doesn't have any unusual wear or corrosion.

$450 is a good price for a P99 these days; I don't recally seeing one in 9mm under $500 for almost a year.
ChipM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 04:03 PM   #3
XKL

XKL .22
More details