WaltherForums

Go Back   WaltherForums > Walther Firearms > The Classics > FAQ: The Classics

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 05:05 PM   #1

ppqp38 .22
Cosmoline Removal for a P38

Hello All,

I am new to the Walther Forum and thought i would probe the community to see if anyone has any experience removing cosmoline from a P38. I have removed cosmoline from other surplus pistols but am a little more cautious in my approach with the P38 as I received a 1943 model in excellent condition and want to perserve it the best i can.

Please let me know what you have done that has worked well in perserving the grip, bluing, etc yet removing that nasty cosmoline.

Thanks,
ppqp38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Register
Old 01-06-2013, 06:05 PM   #2

Fishtick .22
I've used brake cleaner and mineral spirits. Both work very well at removing cosmoline. I believe mineral spirits is a bit more gentle on the finish, although Ive never had an issue with either harming bluing. Not sure if I'd use brake cleaner on parkerized finishes like the P1 has, but you have not worries there with yours being all blued steel. Remove the grips. I'd clean those with hoppes if I were you. It doesn't react with bakelite at all. Hope this helps.
Fishtick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 07:27 PM   #3

AoxoMoxoA .22
Get a large pot of boiling water going.

Remove magazine.
Remove grips.
Remove slide.
Remove barrel.

If you're comfortable disassembling the gun further, do so. If not, that's OK too.

Make a hook with a coat hanger and one by one immerse the cosmoline laden parts in the boiling water and leave there, maybe 5-10 minutes, or until all the cosmoline has floated to the top. Upon removing the parts, the hot water will evaporate and you will have totally degreased and cosmoline free parts.

Immediately spray everything down with WD-40 to displace any remaining water. Make sure to get into all the internals.